Center for Power Optimization of Electro-thermal Systems

Advisory Boards

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The role of the SAB has been to provide crucial input to the strategic direction of the center during the launch phase and through maturation, including both research and workforce development.

The board provides an analysis of the center’s operations and meets with the center leadership and NSF representatives at least once per year, typically at the Spring NSF Site Visit.

Paul Clem, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico
John Cook, Xerion Advanced Battery Corp, Kettering, Ohio
Mary Frecker, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania
Patricia Gharagozloo, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories, Livermore, California
Thomas Jahns, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Madison, Wisconsin
Dragan Maksimovic, University of Colorado–Boulder, Boulder, Colorado
Jonathan Malen, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Sreekant Narumanchi, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Lakewood, Colorado
Wei Qiao, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Lincoln, Nebraska
Bryan Rasmussen, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Alumni Advisory Board (AAB)

Matthew Williams, POETS Alum 2017, Chair

Industry Practitioner Advisory Board (IPAB)

The IPAB serves as the mechanism for industry and government partners to formally participate in POETS. IPAB members provide important insight and direction to center research efforts, through annual strategic plan review and SWOT activities.

Members support workforce development activities by providing internship opportunities and professional development training to graduate students located at all four partner universities. The IPAB meets in person twice per year, and members regularly participate in POETS workshops, webinars and other center activities.